Historical Note
Chkalov

A short historic note on the flight of V. P. Chkalov and his crew to the isle of Udd

After an unsuccessful effort of a non-stop flight over the North Pole to the United States by Hero of the Soviet Union, S.A.Levanevskiy in 1935, one of the crew members, second pilot G.F.Baydukov, invited V.P.Chkalov to consider the flight. In May of 1935, a 31-year old Chkalov was distinguished by Stalin and was awarded an order of Lenin. Baydukov knew that only Chkalov with his determined character, supported by Stalin, could reanimate the idea of this flight. Chkalov got carried away by the idea. On July 14th, 1936 following the order of the Council of Labour and Defense, the itinerary of the flight was approved.

The take-off of the plane took place on July 20th, 1936 at 5.45 a.m. The crew was represented by: commander, V.P. Chkalov; 2-nd pilot, G.F.Baydukov and air navigator, A.V.Belyakov. The itinerary was traced across Kharlovka (Kola peninsula),isle of Victoria (Barents Sea), Tikhaya habour (Franz Josef Land), Severnaya Zamlya, Tiksi habour and Petropavlovsk-Kamchatskiy. Close to Sakhalin, the weather conditions worsened, a necessity to land arose. The crew realized: in such weather conditions the plane would hit the inshore bald mountains, rather than follow the estuary of the Amur river. In the conditions of dense fog and evening dusk, Chkalov succeeded in performing something extraordinary: he masterfully landed a heavy ANT-25В on the inshore line of Udd island, in the Bay of Happiness, close to the city Komsomolsk-on-Amur. It was the evening of July 22nd, 1936. 56 hours 20 minutes of flight and 9374 km covered were left behind.

On July 24th, 1936 by the resolution of VCIK of the USSR the three crew members were awarded the title of Hero of the Soviet Union and the order of Lenin. Soon after the flight, Udd island was renamed the Chkalov island.

 

 
Выставка достижений MVK
© 2017, Sokolniki Exhibition
and Convention Centre
All rights reserved

Made in Jamband studio
Project Organizer - Sokolniki Exhibition and Convention Centre
Project Organizer - MVK Exhibition Company
Main Contact us  .

Историческая справка
Чкалов

Краткая историческая справка о перелёте экипажа В.П. Чкалова на остров Удд

После предпринятой в 1935 году неудачной попытки беспосадочного перелёта через Северный полюс в США Героя Советского Союза С.А. Леваневского, один из членов команды, 2–й пилот Г.Ф. Байдуков, привлёк к идее перелёта В.П. Чкалова. В мае 1935 года 31–летний Чкалов был замечен Сталиным и награждён орденом Ленина. Байдуков понимал, что только Чкалов, с его упрямым характером и поддержкой Сталина, сможет реанимировать идею перелёта. Чкалов увлёкся этой идеей. И уже 14 июля 1936 постановлением Совета труда и обороны маршрут полёта был утвержден.

Старт самолёта состоялся 20 июля 1936 года в 5 часов 45 минут утра. Экипаж: командир — В.П. Чкалов, 2–й пилот — Г.Ф. Байдуков, штурман — А.В. Беляков. Маршрут полёта пролегал через Харловку (Кольский полуостров), остров Виктория (Баренцево море), бухту Тихая (Земля Франца–Иосифа), Северную Землю, бухту Тикси, Петропавловск–Камчатский. При подходе к Сахалину испортилась погода, необходимо было садиться. Экипаж понимал: в таких условиях самолет врежется в прибрежные сопки прежде, чем войдёт в устье Амура. В условиях сильного тумана и вечерних сумерек Чкалову удалось невероятное — мастерски посадить тяжёлый АНТ–25 на прибрежную полосу острова Удд в заливе Счастья, вблизи города Николаевска–на–Амуре. Был вечер 22 июля 1936 года. Позади остались 56 часов 20 минут полёта и 9374 км пройденного пути.

24 июля 1936 года постановлением ВЦИК СССР всем трём членам экипажа было присвоено звание Героев Советского Союза, они были награждены орденами Ленина. Вскоре после перелёта остров Удд был переименован в остров Чкалова.

 
Выставка достижений MVK
© 2017, Конгрессно-выставочный центр «Сокольники»
Все права защищены

Разработано в студии « Джембэнд
Организатор проекта — Конгрессно-выставочный центр «Сокольники»
Project Organizer - MVK Exhibition Company
Главная Контакты  .